Republic of Korea designates two Wetland Conservation Areas

On April 21, the Ministry of Environment registered Ungok Wetland, located in Gochang, of North Jeolla Province, and Dongbaekdongsan, located in the Jeju-do Province with the secretariat of the Ramsar Convention, which has designated them as Wetland Conservation Sites.

The Republic of Korea now has 16 Wetlands of International Importance under the Ramsar Convention, with a total surface area of 14,547 hectares.

According to My Hub News, “the ministry said that it will reinforce the protection of the country’s wetlands by regularly monitoring the wetlands’ ecosystems.”

You can read more about these Wetland Conservation Sites by visting the Ramsar Website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.